The Capitol has men's and women's restrooms and not bathrooms

I’ve been yearning for a brief respite from all of this debt ceiling debate.  Don’t get me wrong I love to see President Obama, John Boehner, and Harry Reid squirm and posture themselves to the benefit of their constituents (not me) but that’s a discussion for another time.

Thank goodness I can feel some sort of “relief” that USA Today posted some of the finalists for “Americas Best Bathrooms” in today’s “Hotel Check-in“.  The article goes on to pose this thought-provoking “call-to-action” by asking the question “Have you been particularly impressed by a beautiful hotel bathroom lately?”

I don’t necessarily know how to answer that question correctly.  One a scale of 1 to 10, 10 being best, is “impressed” an 8 or 9?  I imagine replacing “impressed” with “blown away” would be a 10.  Is that safe to assume?

When I am on the road and I use a gas station’s restroom I would say that “impressed” is a 10 and there aren’t too many gas station restrooms that I am “impressed” with.  I can see you nodding in agreement right now.  If you have every been to a Buc-ee’s then you’ll know what impressed is.  So there needs to be some sort of scoring adjustment made between a hotel bathroom and a gas station restroom.

If you don’t believe me then take a look at the testimonial section of Buc-ee’s website.  You’ll notice that customers refer to their “facilities” as both rest and bath rooms.  I’m OK with that.  I didn’t come up with the idea so we’ll let it rest.

Well maybe not.  Which leads me to the question..why do they call a restroom a bathroom when you can’t take a bath in that room and a restroom a restroom when you can’t take a nap in that room?  Maybe those rooms should be called a “necessary” room or something like that?

Have you been impressed by a beautiful gas station necessary room lately?

Tom Costello is the CEO, Partner & Co-Founder of Groups International, a company that provides marketing, consultative services, and technology solutions to the group and leisure travel markets.  Connect with him on TwitterLinkedIn, and Facebook or contact him by email.

