Tags

, ,

So you need to book a flight.  No where do you go to book it?  Orbitz, Expedia, Kayak or now Google?  Google (and direct with the airline) that’s who!

I conducted a search for a flight on Google that will send me from Chicago O’Hare to Los Angeles, CA.  In the Google search field I typed in “ORD to LAX”.

Then I clicked on the return link provided above Flights from Chicago, IL (ORD) to Los Angeles, CA (LAX) and was directed to this return view which included a selection of outbound flight/arrival times, carriers, and roundtrip airfares.  Simple, short, and sweet.

Next I simply click on the departure time, carrier or price that suits my needs (I’ll choose Continental at $239) and then the screen expands to offer return flights.

I choose which flight I’d like to return on and click “Book

Which then sends me to Continental’s website to finish the booking process.

As of this correspondence Google does not offer car and hotel but I am confident that those options will be available within a short period of time.

Tom Costello is a Partner & Co-Founder of Groups International, a company that provides marketing, consultative services, and technology solutions to the group and leisure travel markets.  Connect with him on LinkedIn, Facebook, and Twitter or contact him by email.

